Leyre Is IHF ‘Employee of the Year’

Leyre Veloso Cruz, guest relations supervisor at Conrad Dublin, has been named “Employee of the Year” by the Dublin branch of the Irish Hotels Federation. The awards ceremony, held at Dublin’s Aloft Hotel, was an evening celebrating outstanding hotel employees.

Pictured are Jonas Treffers, IHF Dublin Branch Chair; Denyse Campbell, IHF President; Leyre Veloso Cruz, Employee of the Year winner and Micheline Corr, member of the judging panel and Director of The Firm Hospitality Recruitment.

Leyre was chosen for the award from among 21 nominees from hotels across Ireland. She was recognised for her valuable contributions to both the guest experience and team culture at Conrad Dublin, as well as her positive impact on Ireland’s tourism industry. 

She has been the guest relations supervisor at Conrad since November 2022, a role which sees her be the port of call for hundreds of guests at Conrad Dublin every day. Prior to settling in Dublin, she also spent time managing guest experiences and receptions in hotels in Prague and Valencia. 

Leyre was nominated for the “Employee of the Year” award by Conrad Dublin’s General Manager, Andrew Moore, who says that her recognition is “a momentous occasion for the hotel”. 

IHF Dublin Branch Chair Jonas Treffers said the judges highlighted Leyre’s passion for the hospitality industry, strategic vision and positive influence on colleagues and guests, when selecting her as the winner.

“Highly Commended” awards were presented to Casie Doyle from the Maldron Hotel Newlands Cross and Arthur Marcellini Bonetti from Clontarf Castle.

IHF Dublin Branch extends its gratitude to the expert judging panel comprised of Ralf Burbach (TU Dublin School of Tourism and Hospitality Management), Micheline Corr (The Firm Hospitality Recruitment), Hugh Murray (Connect Consulting) and Nuala McLoughlin (HR Advisor, Irish Hotels Federation), who had the difficult job of selecting a winner from the nominees.

The members of the IHF Dublin Branch now wish Leyre the very best of luck as she goes on to represent them at the upcoming National IHF Employee of the Year Awards which will be held during the IHF's Annual Conference in February 2024.

Congratulations to all the Dublin branch nominees on their high standards of service and quality of work provided on a daily basis, true credits to the industry!

·        Aline Ribeiro do Prado – Mespil Hotel
·        Ann McCabe – Sandymount Hotel at AVIVA Stadium
·        Anna Morgan – Carton House, A Fairmont Managed Hotel
·        Bruno Secchieri – Camden Court Hotel
·        Caroline Ponsitano De Oliveira – Ariel House - Dublin 4
·        Chloe Mooney – Clayton Hotel Charlemont
·        David Donnelly – Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
·        Fabio Viti – Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
·        Jordan Naghten – Maldron Hotel Tallaght
·        Jurgita Jonaitiene – Academy Plaza Hotel
·        Lucija Krajger – Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane & Conference Centre
·        Michaela Malone – Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
·        Mohammed Iqbal Farook Maricar – The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin
·        Riza Samet Isik – Dylan Hotel Dublin
·        Sara Paradeller – Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
·        Sebastian Sokolowski – The Grand Canal Hotel Dublin
·        Tayna Furtado Piccirillo – Aloft Dublin City
·        Zakariya Bashir Ahmed – Stauntons on the Green