Delta Award for DkIT 

A team of DkIT educators has received a National Delta Award. The award is granted to discipline groups who demonstrate a record of excellence in teaching and learning enhancement and who commit to an ongoing, clearly articulated, shared process of continued enhancement.

This discipline group is the entire team of staff attached to the department of Hospitality Studies in DkIT, which covers the broad areas of Tourism Management, Event Management, Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management. As a department committed to the development and enhancement of learning, teaching and assessment processes, the DELTA Award provided an opportunity to increase collaboration across the disciplines in the department, sharing expertise, knowledge and experiences, creating a platform for continual sharing of best practice and bringing demonstrable benefits to the student experience.

The team included: Brianain Erraught (co-lead), Maria Roddy-Freyne (co-lead), Dr Kevin Burns, Alan McCabe, Lorraine Dunne, Teresa O’Rourke, Elizabeth Murray, Karen Commins, Derick Englishby, James Browne, Michael McNamara, Mairead McKenna, Colette Kelly, Aidan Hoare, Rosemary Leonard and student Xin Xu (Caroline).

Pictured are Dr Kevin Burns, Teresa O’Rourke, Lorraine Dunne, Maria Roddy Freyne, Dr Lynn Ramsey (Chair, National Forum), Dr Patricia Moriarty, Xin Xu (Caroline), Alan McCabe, Tim Conlon (Head of Policy and Strategic Planning, HEA)

Congratulating the teams on the day, Dr Lynn Ramsey, Chair of the National Forum, said:

“On behalf of the National Forum Teaching and Learning Committee, it is a pleasure to honour the commitment and dedication of these discipline teams. The inclusive, collaborative and learner-centred approach taken by the teams is to be commended particularly in the context of what was a very challenging year for institutions and their learners. The presentation of these awards is a well-deserved acknowledgement of the continued exceptional work being carried out by discipline teams across the sector.”

Tim Conlon, Head of Policy and Strategic Planning at the Higher Education Authority, added:

“On behalf of the Higher Education Authority, and on my own behalf, I congratulate the award-winning teams. We recognise that disciplines are a key unit of change in higher education. The DELTA award remains one of the highest honours in this field, recognising teams and individuals in our sector whose commitment is having a truly outstanding impact in the overall enhancement of teaching and learning.

“This Award evidences that as a focus area of investment and strategic importance, the enhancement of teaching and learning within subject areas is enriching practice within disciplinary contexts, and the experiences of our students.”