Daragh Heads IHI

Daragh O’Neill, who has been elected as the 30th president of the Irish Hospitality Institute, is general manager of the Talbot Hotel Stillorgan.

A graduate of Hotel & Catering Management at the Dublin College of Catering (TU Dublin & Trinity College Dublin), he has travelled to the USA and gained eight years’ experience with Medallion Hotels in Texas where he took his first general manager’s position.  He returned to Ireland in 1998 to take up the position of general manager of the Castletroy Park Hotel, Limerick. In 2008 he returned to Dublin to his current post.

Daragh is passionate about the investment in people working in the hospitality industry. He firmly believes in providing his team with the necessary training and skills required for their overall success within the industry. In 2023 the Talbot Hotel Stillorgan has been recognized as a “Great Place to Work” and has also received the Failte Ireland Employer Excellence award. His team at the Talbot Hotel has also been previously recognized by the AA of Ireland when it was awarded the Annual Courtesy and Care award.

With over three decades of experience in the hospitality sector, Daragh has actively participated in various industry and community organizations. While in the USA, he was a board member of United Way and participated in the High School Junior Achievement mentor programme. On home turf, while living in the Shannon Region, he was chairman of the Shannon Branch of the IHF and a member of the IHF national council. In 2015/16 Daragh was the Dublin President of SKAL International Ireland and has sat on the tourism strategic review committee for Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Chamber of Commerce.

A fellow of the Irish Hospitality Institute, Daragh was appointed as a director to the IHI Board in May 2019 and was elected deputy president in 2021.

Daragh said:

“Now more than ever, hospitality needs a professional institute to enhance the reputation of our industry as it strives to attract new people at all levels. As an institute, we must look at new and innovative ways of building membership, member engagement and professional development and support for our members.”

Also elected were:

Deputy President: Ciara Drohan, Group Human Resources Manager, Tifco Hotels

Chair of the College of Fellows: Fergal O'Connell, General Manager, The Fitzwilliam Hotel  

Board Directors: Eugene Harrington, Cliste Hospitality & iNua Collection; Kathleen Linehan, Trigon Hotels; Deborah O'Hanlon, Shannon College of Hotel Management; Lynn Mc Loughlin, The Gibson Hotel (Dalata Hotel Group); Mark Dunne, Mount Juliet Estate; Deirdre Mc Donald, The Innovate Room; Susan Colley Doyle, Trim Castle Hotel; Kevin Brennan, The Hilton Dublin, Kilmainham; Alan Smullen, The Doyle Collection; and Ivan King, Luttrellstown Castle